Graduation 2019

 ​​Fête du drapeau



Share with friends

CIL 2019 IPM

Les Filles d’Isabelle à Sturgeon Falls : 75 ans d’Unité, Amitié, Charité



New town council gets to work

West Nipissing Municipal Council was officially sworn in by northeastern Ontario magistrate Pierre Bradley on the evening of December 4th. L-R: Councillors Jeremy Séguin, Lise Sénécal, Yvon Duhaime, Léo Malette, Mayor Joanne Savage, Justice Pierre Bradley, Councillors Roland “Rolly” Larabie, Denis Sénécal, Dan Roveda and Christopher Fisher.

by Isabel Mosseler

West Nipissing Council Chamber was packed with family and friends on the evening of December 4 as the newly elected council, the seventh since amalgamation, was sworn in by Justice Pierre Bradley. The occasion was both solemn and joyous as each councillor and the mayor swore an oath to uphold the dignity and integrity of their office and gave their allegiance to the Queen, using the official language of their choice. After reciting their oath of office, they took their official seat at the council table, ready to roll up their sleeves and work for the next four years. There was little work done on this night, however, as the swearing-in ceremony lasted 35 minutes and was the only official business of the evening.

Council veterans Rolly Larabie, Yvon Duhaime, Léo Malette and Mayor Joanne Savage were joined by new councillors Jeremy Séguin, Christopher Fisher, Denis Sénécal, Dan Roveda and former councillor Lise Sénécal. In her inaugural speech, fifth term Mayor Savage gave an outline of some of the work ahead. 

​“The residents of West Nipissing have given us the responsibility to act on their behalf and represent their interests… We are responsible for the stewardship of the Municipality of West Nipissing.” Savage congratulated all members on their successful election campaigns, and thanked the family members in advance for “the sacrifices they will make this coming term. Thank you for lending your loved ones to West Nipissing.”

... to read more, click here.

Spring Home Guide ​2019

Back to school 2019

La rentrée scolaire

Retrospective 2018

Ready to Roll 2019

Business Awards ​2019